William Tell (1958)

William Tell was a British swashbuckler adventure series, first broadcast on the ITV network in 1958, and produced by ITC Entertainment. It is set in the period of the original foundation of the Old Swiss Confederacy in the early 14th century. According to the legend, Tell—an expert marksman with the crossbow—assassinated Gessler, a tyrannical reeve of Habsburg Austria positioned in Altdorf, Uri. Tell is a central figure in Swiss patriotism as it was constructed during the Restoration of the Confederacy after the Napoleonic era. The full series is here.
The Emperor's Hat
The Hostages
Secret Death
Gauntlet of Sir Gerhardt
The Prisoner
Voice in the Night
The Assassins
The Baroness
The Elixir
The Suspect
The Cuckoo
The Bear
The Magic Powder
The Golden Wheel
The Trap
The Shrew
The Manhunt
The Bride
The Boy Slaves
The Young Widow
More Episodes | Back to the the British Television Catalog

back to Uncle Earl's Classic TV Channel